Library Advisory Committee Minutes of the October 2, 2015 Meeting

The meeting came to order at noon.

Present: Dr. Scott Breloff, Prof. Matt Briel, Dr. Carol Cote, Dr. Marian Farrell, Dr. Michael Fennie, Mrs. Sharon Finnerty, Chair, Prof. David Friedrichs, Mr. Eugeniu Grigorescu, Dr. Jakub Jasinski, Dean Charles Kratz, Mr. Christopher Kustera, Dr. Andrew LaZella, Assistant Dean Jean Lenville, Dr. Erica Lasek Nesselquist, Dr. Yibai Li, Dr. Robert McCloskey, Prof. Sheli McHugh, Prof. Betsey Moylan, Prof. Bonnie Oldham, Dr. William Parente, Dr. Christos Pargianas, Dr. Kim Pavlick, Prof. Narda Tafuri, Dr. Adam Pastociate Dean Bonnie Strohl, Ms. Natalie Wentz, Dr. Ben Willis, Prof. Kristen Yarmey, and Dr. John Zych.

Unable to attend: Prof. George Aulisio, Dr. Dona Bauman, Dr. Marzia Caporale, Dr. Kathy Dwyer, Dr. Tracey Collins, Dr. Terri Freemamith, Dr. Teresa Grettano, Dr. Barry Kuhle, Dr. Nathan Lefler, Dr. Susan Mendez, and Prof. Donna Witek.

Dr. Farrell asked for a round of introductions.

On a motion by Dr. Willis, seconded by Dr. Pratt, the minutes were approved as written.

Dean Kratz reported on the ThinheckSubmithub about which Prof. Tafuri gathered information from an is a campaign to

identify trusted

researd hrough asimple checklist to assess the credentials of a journal or exported by acalition of school rly communications in response to discussions

ing. The Library subscribes to Cabelland Ulrich's found on the AZ list of rces for identifying scholarly publishing.

Dean Kratz reported that during themmer, the Library opened the second floor for 24/7 access There are now 00 seat available 24/7. The second floor provides a greater variety of seating options and will be equipped, without any loss of seating, with some pieces to modernize the learning spaces.

The 3% increase in the acquisitions budget was the best that the Library could get in the present year. Dean Kratz will be on the Budget Advisory Committee next year. February the deadline for placing book orders.

Prof. Oldham announced that the Library will be awarding two Information Literacy stipends for Intersession and Spring 2016. The submission deadline for proposals is November 2. Dr. Ben Willis, PCPS, Dr. John Zych, KSOM, and Dr. Kim Pavlick, CAS, volurete so serve as judges.

project. Comments included with the vote will be shared with the Library Faculty, and if the vote is to move forward with the pilot project, comments will be sharedthæthbibrary Advisory Subcommittee for Establishing Criter [Note: the original motion had a deadline of Friday October 9 for the vote but to give a full week for voting, with the permission of Dr. Willis and Dr. Farrell, it was amended to October 12

The followingLibrary Advisory Committee members voltered to serve on the Criteria for Remote Storage Subcommitteer. Scott Breloff, Prof. Matt Briel, Dr. Carol Cote, Dr. Michael Fennie, Dr. Marian Farrell, Dr. Andrew LaZella,